THEY TOLD ME IT WAS RIGHT

© Karen Peatt 2005

They told me it was right

not to stay another day,

to forget, to walk away.

They told me it was right.

I close my eyes, see your face.

They told me it was right.

How I wish you were near.

They told me it was right.

They said “You can’t do that,

you are scum,

leave her here, you

can’t take care.”

I said I’ll always be there.

They told me it was right.

Years have passed, my

face grows old.

Each day the grief

grows stronger

and again they told me it

was right.

Don’t worry little one,

they’ll always keep you safe.

I hope you are happy

and loved.

They told me it was right.

They told me it was right,

now I don’t believe.

A love like mine is strong.

It can right any wrong.

They told me it was right.

I wasn’t there to chase the

storms away,

to fill your head with

knowledge,

your heart with love.

They told me it was right.

Hopefully someday you shall see

I did it not for me but you

and ‘cause they told me it was right.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THEY TOLD ME IT WAS RIGHT

  1. tiff says:

    So beautiful and sad.

Leave a Reply

